New Job, New Adventure

Back to writing.

Well, it has been about 2 years since I wrote a piece in this blog, which is sad and very inconsistent of me. 😦

But anywho, let me start again.

I wanted to write again because I think I have lost the touch of talking to myself. Storytelling has always been my expertise, so why have I not been using it?

These past two years I have developed a certain attraction towards moving images instead of writing or reading. Everything seems to be on video, if you want an information about something, its on video. Youtube, Vimeo, Facebook. Anything. Everything is there. So the urge on picking up a pen or even just typing has long gone.

But now, because of a certain event has happened. I think writing would be good again for me which I also hope that my interest in moving pictures or images won’t be too far away from me again.

I have loved moving images since I was a baby. That’s all I can say. When I wake up in the morning, I can still remember our living room in an apartment in Sauders Street, New York. The soft, white carpet that covers our brown picket floor. Our tv placed in the middle of the room, it was as tiny as I can remember, but to a 1 year old, it might have been humungous. I would just sit not far away from the tv and watch my favourite cartoons. Back then, of course, I didn’t know how it would make such a big impact for me now. As I realised, I can never put my eyes away from something visual. It is drawn to me closer and closer, whether its to do with photography or moving pictures.

So now, after 3 years of being a freelance photographer and part-time videographer (if needed), I landed on a job as a producer again but it is more into the music industry. Now get this, this job that I landed on is the most flexible one I’ve ever experienced. I only work 6 hours , well more or less , in a week. This time, being a producer for this music website isn’t as complicated than being a producer for a big music video production which I have had my fair share back in 2011. But all is good, I am learning something totally new and that is the local music industry in Indonesia. Not just Jakarta, but in Indonesia. These whole entire nation. Hmmm…. quite the homework, right? Well, I can’t say that I am a ‘real’ music enthusiast, I do enjoy music, all sorts, but I can’t say that my knowledge about music is my expertise. So there you have it, Shinta, something new to learn about. I strongly believe that whatever I did in the past, made me come up this path. With a boyfriend who knows more about music than me, I think this is God’s way of making me more humble to my boyfriend’s interest and devotion towards music and Indonesia. Don’t get my wrong, I still love Indonesia, but sometimes I can’t help but think, I do not know much about my own country sometimes.

So here you go, Shinta. Your puzzle now is to figure out how to get yourself more involved in the music industry in your own country and help them visually send their messages in Klikklip.com through to the whole country and hopefully, the world.

Until my next writing. 😀

 

 

New Job, New Adventure

Leave a Reply

