Fun Freelancing for a Good Cause – Part I

As you know that, ever since I didn’t continue my contract with Filmogue, I’ve been free as a bird. Been making my own decisions about life and all, and it may look a little selfish, but for me, its something that I have to do eventually before I regret my days later in life.  Thankfully until today, I am still fine and breathing fresh air. Also life is getting more exciting by the day. Here’s how it all started.

A few months back, my dad has been putting out the word for me that I was looking for a job which landed him, lending a word or two to his old colleague, who worked with him in the USAID and ASEAN back in the days. She and her husband owns a production house. Surprisingly its an international production house, that has lots of freelancers who worked dedicatedly to this very interesting executive producer, Ibu Dian. She has made this company way back, and has been doing it ever since. Working along side with many international broadcasting companies, she has brought her own production house as one of the most reliable international production house in Jakarta.

Dad told me that she was a very interesting woman who enjoyed her job and takes pride in what she does. She is a very strong woman, and also hilariously fun too. So my dad says to her this, “Why don’t you talk to my daughter, she used to be a project manager.. She might be able to help you.” And so there you have it, I cannot back down on that, can I? especially when my dad has already referred me to her, I followed dad’s request into meeting Ibu Dian in person. I really had no idea what’s to come, but I told myself I should just give it a try and see how it goes. Just an innocent chat will do, won’t hurt, right?

Ibu Dian and I met at Epicentrum, and we exchanged our experiences, and seems to me, she was actually doing the job I did last year only this lady was more professional and much more experienced than I was. She knew her grounds and really knows how to make it all work out. Not like me! Me, who was not-experienced in working as a producer should be doing and did not enjoy it enough. I was honest to her about wanting to work for a lighter side of things and that I also wanted to go back to school by looking for a scholarship too. She was really helpfully, and so elegantly straightforward in things, I thought she was cool. We ended our 2 hour chat, with her telling me that she’ll look for something for me that I might be interested it. I don’t know what but I did had a bit of doubt of what will come along.

BUT NOW, it gets interesting.  2 weeks later, suddenly, she emails me asking me if I would be interested in being a “Fixer” for a TV program from Singapore, AxN for a day. In my mind, I was like thinking, okay, if I had to do something like being a producer again for the day, I would kinda kill myself, because you all know that I don’t like counting budgets and all. and on the other hand, I needed a job and well, money of course. The last 2 months was great and all, but seriously if you don’t get something on the side, might as well just go under. So I thought, what the heck, I’ll just do it anyway. When I was referred to the AxN crew, they actually handed me to the other client, to help them sort out a few things and assist them for consulting on the site. Hmm. Okay, been thrown back to the client. At first, I was not quite sure about it but I already jumped into it so I could not go back either. And what the hell is FIXER!?!!! Haven’t heard such a thing. Seriously. Good God!

But anyway, eventually someone called me up, her name was Zoe. She was from a media agency in Kuala Lumpur called Zenith, who was handling Axiata Malaysia as her client to help them with their CSR program. Turns out their CSR program is connected to AxN, (the TV channel we usually watch for Wipeout Australia or Hawaii-O Five) who will be shooting for their CSR program. It will be a new TV program they will be launching next year about fulfilling wishes of not so fortunate kids across Asia. They will be picked in each countries and Axiata will be helping out in fullfilling their wishes. The ones who are picked in Indonesia, are two boys from a foster home called the SOS Children’s Village in Cibubur. And my mission was to take Zoe from Zenith and clients from Axiata to SOS Cibubur to connect them, and address them with their plans to help these two special boys named Adit and Benny, to fulfill their wishes.

And the adventures begins as a Freelancer Fixer for a Good Cause.

Will write it in another post, kay….

Fun Freelancing for a Good Cause – Part I

One thought on “Fun Freelancing for a Good Cause – Part I

Leave a Reply

