A Moment with a Goddess, Dewi “Dee” Lestari

Speaking of Fame and Glory from my previous post, I hereby want to just share an experience I had today, and it really reflects and relates to the post I wrote 9 hours ago to this post that I’m going to share with you. So bare with me.

“Supernova”. A book once recommended to me when I was only 17 years old. I was not exposed to Indonesian books back then and I must say, my Indonesian back then, if we can give it some level, it was Indonesian for a 6 grader. I had no drive to read this book, and had so much difficulty reading it. A dear friend had mentioned his admiration to the author, Dewi Lestari, as his idol, his star, his passion to read books back then and until now. For me, I did not have any interest or what so ever.

I was young and did love books, but only at mere teenage level, where hopeless romantic love story would only make my heart move in ways that even small words of poems and stories came up to mind. Written in scrap books and piles of used papers, I was also writing the deepest feelings of a 17 year old finding out what life was all about. And until now I still am.

Today, another blessing in disguised, had fell in my hands. I had a task to meet the author of “Supernova”. She was also the writer of the short film we are planning to make “Filosofi Kopi”. And our mission was to meet and tell her the development of this short film that was based on HER work and how its going to look like. 2 of my colleagues and friends were ecstatic, but for me, I was lost.

Honestly, I was confused and well, I really didn’t know how to put my face in this, because I knew many and many of my friends who speak highly of her and her books. Her stories had captured many lives, from making coffee shops, or even just having a moment of a father and son. This woman had inspired many but I was not among them (not just yet). So this time, I was given a chance to meet her in person, to see her and have an interactive conversation through bits and pieces of stories that will be shared.

So there I was, driving my friends to pick her up in her cozy warm house. My two friends were complete fans and read all her books, but we also tried to remind ourselves in the car on our way there that we were here on a mission. And that was to send her news about our updates on the project we were going to make based on her short story. So let us not get carried away.

But as we arrived at her doorstep, she was already outside, waving her hand like a princess with the softest smile I could see. My friend, Ipang, was already sweating big drops of sweat, for he was going to meet his idol, his inspiration for such a long time. And I think I could feel the tension that he could just faint at the fact that he was at her house to see her and shake her hand. She enters my car with a smile of fairytale princess and we were headed to the nearest restaurant to have our little chat that ended up to a 2-hour conversation.

We shared our ideas for her short story that will be transformed to a short film and the development we were processing. She was moved. She enjoyed our ideas and thought it was a great plan to start and share. It was a success for our mission. But later along the little bites that we had through our meals, we ended hearing stories of this humble writer about her reasons and her way of capturing ideas were made in her mind. She was a woman of great passion but with this lightness I cannot explain. She had nothing to hide, her senses were all clear and she spoke of the truth about life. She had been inspired to write in search for the meaning of God and the search for identity. From the moment she spoke this, I was speechless, I found out, she already knew what her life was all about, and it was through her writings that made her feel alive and her search seems endless. The thoughts in her mind she says, were all there, it is only the moment where you need to use a lasso rope to catch it and then make it to a piece of writing in order to be shared. And that was the loveliest message I could hear from a person with big eyes of truth and straightforwardness. Elegantly, she tells the stories of how she was in a trance to writing her stories and that made her feel like another person in another world, and also because of such depth, she too could also feel as if the characters that she had made could be brought to life as if they were with her at that moment. See? A woman so driven with such grace, she awed me. Not because of her books, but for the person she was. And what she believed in. She was a person with a purpose and she is not asking too much of anything but basically she only wanted to share her ideas and creations through her writings, it ended up people looking up to her and seeing her as a flawless human-being. This was fame and glory that was given to her, without her not trying too hard, and that I admire so. But maybe again through time, eventually fame and glory will come across us one day, and we are able to choose whether does it really matter that much or it is something that goes by. And that would take a maturity phase first to come across that, I guess. To stay humble and great at the same time, is not very easy thing I guess… but when the moment she sat there with her conversations filled with dreams, she was particular a goddess which means “Dewi” in Indonesian to me.

I’m sure, many of you would know her more than I do, (who am I? haven’t even read most of her books just yet) but for me, I’d like to say, I am blessed to have engage a small moment of truth from the eyes of a beautiful and loved writer of Indonesia. Her thoughts and views today had made me felt strongly of how I felt about life and passion and now I know what to do. And I know it is to write more stories and keep on imagining for it will touch the hearts of its readers if it is truly from your heart.

Thank you mba Dee, you are an inspiration and I do hope we will meet again in the near or far future where I have read all of your books and have understood all the writings you have made that capture the hearts of our young hearted souls. The Universe has conspired me to meet a writer today in order to live my dreams. Thank You Universe.

A Moment with a Goddess, Dewi “Dee” Lestari

Leave a Reply

